Monday, January 16th, 2017

Spencer Results Fri., July 4, 2014


by Gary M. Spaid

WILLIAMSON, NY…Mike Leaty and Rusty Smith each took turns at visiting victory lane last Friday at Spencer Speedway to celebrate Independence Day.  Smith picked up the win in the first NASCAR Sunoco Modified Twin 20 and Leaty the last.

In support races, Shaun Frarey picked up his fourth Four Cylinder Scorpion feature win in five starts this season at Spencer.  In the Super Sixes, Brandon Allen took his first win of the season.

At the start of the first NASCAR Sunoco Modified 20-lapper, Andy Lewis jumped out into the lead with Amy Catalano and Rusty Smith in tow.  Within a lap Smith grabbed second and started to pressure Lewis for the lead.

The yellow flew on lap three when Eddie Hawkins slowed on the backstretch.  On the restart, Smith was able to out dragged Lewis to take the lead.  The yellow came out again on lap seven when Chris Ridsdale looped around in the second turn.

At the checkers Smith continued to lead with Lewis is second.  Amy Catalano, Tommy Catalano and Mike Leaty rounded out the top five.

“I got lucky by starting on the inside line at the start of the race,” stated Smith on passing Andy Lewis for the lead. “I could see he seemed tight. So I stayed low and nose him up. Once you can get the lead here it seems all you need to do is keep your momentum and stay on the bottom.”

The second 20-lapper line up was set up by a draw between the top five finishers from the first 20-lapper. Leaty drew the pole and Amy Catalano the outside pole.  Amy was unable to start the second run, thus moving Smith to the outside pole.

As the green flag fell it was all Leaty, using the low line around the half mile oval. Smith dropped in on the tail of Leaty with Kevin Timmerman fighting his way into third and, after a few laps, catching the two leaders.

These three pulled away from the rest of the field as the race remained green-to-checkers. Leaty took the win, his first Sunoco Modified win since May 30th. Smith finished second followed by Timmerman, Andy Lewis and Tommy Catalano.

As for Leaty,” We got bottled up in the first 20 lapper. I was watching in my mirror like crazy in this last race. In the closing laps I just maintained my line.”

The Super Six 20-lap main event saw eleven cars answer the call to the line. The pole sitter, Adam VanHall, was quick to take the lead with Brandon Allen in second.  Allen made his move for the lead on lap three.  One lap later the yellow flag was in the air as Josh Schoonmaker spun around in the fourth turn.

The restart saw Brian Hallett start to challenge VanHall for second. Hallett was able to grab second on lap six and start to challenge Allen for the lead. These two then pulled away from the rest of the field. VanHall slide high exiting the second turn allowing Van Grant to take third. He was trying to catch the two leaders but to no avail, as the rest of the race remained green flagged.

At the checkers Allen and Hallett held a full straight away lead over third place finisher Grant. Tim Faro and VanHall rounded out the top five finishers.

“We just got a new motor,” claimed Allen. “We took it out of a car with 180,000 miles on it.”

It was Allen’s first win this year at Spencer.

Timmy Catalano was the early leader in the 4-Cylinder Scorpion 15-lap feature.  The yellow flew in lap five for Travis Montgomery, who slowed on the backstretch. The restart saw Catalano lose his lead to second place runner Beth Dennie. Dennie then tried to pull away from the field but was only able to maintain a slight advantage.

Back in the pack Shaun Frarey was working his way up to second by lap 11. He then shot out of the pack to catch and pass Dennie on lap 12.

Frarey went on to take the checkers followed by Dennie, Tim Catalano, Joe Clark and Travis Montgomery, who was able to return to the back of the back after causing the race’s only yellow.

“Something was making a noise in the right front,” stated Frarey in the winner’s circle. “It started after I hit the outside wall on lap five.”

SPENCER NOTES: The Kid’s bicycle races were run at intermission. In the two-to-five year old category it was Mathew Lees, from Webster, taking the trophy. Trevor Catalano, Ontario, won the six-to-eight year old class and Jacob Heimes, from Sodus won the nine-and-older division. .. Vision Automotive Groups’ Piehler Vision Buick GMC/Jaguar/Land Rover of Rochester representatives were on hand to make sure all the kids received an American flag and a special flashlight….Prior to the night’s racing Darryl Lewis Jr.  was interviewed on the track as the official winner of the June 27th Sunoco Modified race, following the post race disqualification of the first place car.

This coming Friday, July 11th, Spencer will be hosting the Big 10 Super Stocks with a 30-lap feature. The Sunoco Modifieds will be running a 35-lap main event. Also on tap are the INEX Legend cars, the Super Sixes and the Four Cylinder Scorpions. Racing starts at 7:30 p.m. sharp.

Spencer Speedway is located just fifteen minutes east of Rochester, NY, along Route 104 in the Town of Williamson. Spencer Speedway is the local “NASCAR Place to Race” for Central New York in 2014. Points earned each week at Spencer are counted into the national NASCAR Whelen All-American Points.

For more information go to:




HEAT 1:  S. Frarey, T. Catalano, A. Montgomery, T. Alloco, A. Schoonmaker.

HEAT 2:  T. Montgomery, J. Clark, A. Knoepfler, B. Dennie, D. Knapp Jr.

FEATURE (15-laps ):  SHAUN FRAREY, Beth Dennie, Tim Catalano, Joe Clark, Travis Montgomery, Austin Montgomery, Donnie Knapp Jr., Alison Knoepfler, Jennifer Dennie, Tom Alloco, Ashley Schoonmaker, Carrie Bolton-Brown, Carrie Schoonmaker.



HEAT 1:  B. Hallett, J. Schoonmaker, A. Cocilova, B. Inch, B. Mitchell.

HEAT 2:  B. Allen, A. VanHall, V. Grant, T. Faro, K. Butler Jr.

FEATURE (20-laps ):   BRANDON ALLEN, Brian Hallett, Van Grant, Tim Faro, Adam VanHall, Bill Inch, Barrett Schenk, Andy Cocilova, Keith Butler Jr., Bill Mitchell, Josh Schoonmaker.



HEAT 1:  A. Lewis, A. Catalano, M. Leaty, D. Lewis Jr., E. Hawkins.

HEAT 2:  K. Timmerman, B. Lippa Jr., R. Smith, T. Catalano, C. Ridsdale.

FEATURE #1 (20-laps):   RUSTY SMITH, Andy Lewis, Amy Catalano, Tommy Catalano, Mike Leaty, Kevin Timmerman, Darryl Lewis Jr., Eddie Hawkins, John Barber, Chris Ridsdale, Bobby Lippa Jr., Tom Wiest, Tim Lewis Jr.

FEATURE #2 (20-laps):   MIKE LEATY, Rusty Smith, Kevin Timmerman, Andy Lewis, Tommy Catalano, Darryl Lewis Jr., Eddie Hawkins, John Barber, Bobby Lippa Jr.,  Tom Wiest, Tim Lewis Jr., DNS: Amy Catalano, Chris Ridsdale.



Spencer Drag Racing results for Saturday June 28, 2014.

Super Pro class winner was Chucky White, and in second place was Joe Williams. Third and fourth place was Joshua Stassen and George Smith Jr.

Mike DeMareo won the Pro class with Dave Stock coming in second place. Sam DeMareo II came in third and Paul Zadarlik took fourth place.

Street class went as follows Rich Garland took first with Todd Minard in second and Matt Galiotti came in third.

Please make a note …We will not be running a drag racing program on July 19th.

This email is free from viruses and malware because avast! Antivirus protection is active.