Monday, January 16th, 2017

Pal-Mac, Gananda Swim Win FL Invitational

Gananda-Title1The Pal-Mac and Gananda boys swim teams both won their divisions at the Finger Lakes League Invitational on Saturday at the Victor Aquatic Center.

Pal-Mac scored 562 points to win Division 1. Newark finished second, Geneva finished third, Midlakes finished fourth and Williamson-Sodus finished fifth.

Pal-Mac’s Jack DeMeyers was named the Senior of the Year. He won the 100-yard breaststroke in Division 1 with a time of 1:09.04 and finished second in the 200 individual medley (2:20.76).

Pal-Mac’s 200 medley relay team (Gage Geldorf, Zach Russell, Bradley Green and DeMeyers), won the event in a school-record time of 1:46.60.

Russell also won the 100 butterfly with a school-record time of 56.46 and Geldorf won the 100 backstroke (58.64).

Newark’s Tyler Allen won the Division 1 200 free (1:56.96) and 500 free (5:20.11), teammate Kyle Power won the 50 free (22.65) and 100 free (50.89), the Reds’ relay team of Ryan Kreuser, Jarrod Roeland, Allen and Power won the 200 free relay (1:35.52) and 400 free relay (3:33.5). Geneva’s Jacob Ritter won the 200 individual medley (2:14.42).

Gananda scored 474 points to finish five points ahead of Naples for the Division 2 championship. Marcus Whitman finished third, North Rose-Wolcott finished fourth and Clyde-Savannah finished fifth.

Gananda trailed by one point going into the last relay and the team of Evan Sixbey, Mitchell Miller, Ryan McDowell and Jordan Cannan swam a time of 3:37.08 to edge Naples by 0.88 seconds.

Sixbey won the 200 free  with a time of 1:51.87 — breaking the school’s 200 record by two seconds. He also won the 500 free (5:10.44).

Naples’ Dane Hoselton was named the swimmer of the meet. The junior won the 100 backstroke in a meet-record time of 55.37 and won the 200 IM (2:06.93).

Pal-Mac’s Jason Stevens won Coach of the Year honors.



Division 1 Standings

1. Palmyra-Macedon 562
2. Newark 432
3. Geneva 357
4. Midlakes 278
5. Williamson-Sodus 209

Division 2 Standings

1. Gananda 474
2. Naples 469
3. Marcus Whitman 437.5
4. North Rose-Wolcott 310.5
5. Clyde Savannah 135